6 Facts About a First DUI in Florida

Are you facing driving under the influence (DUI) charges in Miami for the first time? If so, you probably have a lot of questions. “Will I have to pay a fine? Will my auto insurance shoot through the roof? Will I have to go to jail?” In order to shed light on a first DUI, I’m going to explain six facts about DUI that you should know.

If you have further questions or if you’re seeking a DUI defense attorney in Miami-Dade County, don’t hesitate to contact me directly. With over 3,000 DUI cases under my belt, I’m more than qualified to give you legal advice.

Fact #1. Most first DUIs are misdemeanors.

Like other states, most first-time DUIs are misdemeanor offenses. However, if you’re involved in an accident that causes serious bodily injuries or death to another person, you would likely face felony DUI charges.

Fact #2. DUI convictions are expensive.

If you’re convicted of a first DUI, you will be fined between $500 and $2,000, but it doesn’t stop there. Perhaps one of the most expensive parts of a DUI conviction is how it affects auto insurance premiums for years. As a driver with a recent DUI, you’re automatically placed into the “high risk” category and that will cost you thousands more than if you were never convicted of DUI.

Fact #3. First DUIs involve community service.

In Florida, if you’re found guilty of DUI, you will have to complete 50 hours of community service; it’s mandatory. Or, you can pay a fine of $10 for each hour of community service that the court requires of you.

Fact #4. Residential alcoholism treatment is possible.

The court has the discretion to require a DUI defendant to participate in a residential alcoholism or substance abuse treatment program. When defendants enroll in such a program, their time served is credited toward their term of imprisonment.

Fact #5. DUIs lead to license revocation.

If you’re convicted of DUI in Florida, you face a license revocation for 180 days to one year. If you want a hardship reinstatement, you have to complete DUI School.

Fact #6. Defendants may avoid a conviction with Back on Track.

If this is your first DUI offense and you qualify for the Back on Track program, you may be able to avoid jail and a criminal conviction!

Facing first-time DUI charges in Miami? Contact me todayto find out if you qualify for the Back on Track program!

Categories: First DUI, DUI

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Internet Marketing Experts
Jonathan Blecher, P.A. - Miami DUI Attorney
Located at 9150 S Dadeland Blvd, Dadeland Centre II, Suite 1010 Miami, FL 33156. View Map
Phone: (305) 677-0563
© 2013 All Rights Reserved.
LinkedIn Twitter Facebook Google Plus Avvo