What Can I Expect from My First DUI Case?

In Miami, Florida, going out for a few drinks with your friends or visiting a few clubs on the weekend is a fairly standard activity and a good way to have some fun. Knowing this, law enforcement officers have raised their awareness of potentially intoxicated drivers in an attempt to crack down on reckless behavior. In layman's terms, it is becoming easier to get arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in the city.

If this has happened to you in recent days, you are probably still worrying about what to expect from your first DUI case. With my help – professional DUI Attorney Jonathan Blecher – we can break down this stressful situation into something more manageable.

Let's Look at What Happened

Any criminal case is going to hinge on evidence, including your first DUI case, and you can expect that just about everything the prosecution is going to present has to deal with what may have or may not have happened at the time of your arrest. Did you perform any field sobriety tests? What about a breathalyzer test? Even though these are commonly used, they are not necessarily accurate and can be challenged by an experienced DUI lawyer.

Aside from the roadside sobriety tests, you were probably also asked a series of questions. Police officers will hold you responsible for anything you say that is incriminating even before you are placed under arrest. For that reason, you will want to get the help you need from our firm at once.

What Could Happen If It Goes to Court

If your case does go to trial, meaning it could not be dismissed in preliminary hearings, you will have to defend yourself against the accusations. Most likely, the arresting officer will be there and provide plenty of stories of how intoxicated you were. With me in your corner, I can cross-examine the officer and pinpoint holes in their case to be exploited. It all comes down to doing all we can to protect you from an unfair conviction, as the penalties for a first-time DUI in Florida can include:

  • $500 to 1,000 fines
  • 50 hours of community service
  • Up to six months in jail
  • 12 hours of DUI school
  • Up to one year of probation
  • At least 180 days of license revocation
  • Suspended license

It is important to note that these penalties can escalate depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at the time of your arrest. Amounts gauged over 0.15% usually double the severity of the punishments and also include an ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed on your vehicle.

Usually the best way to avoid any of the serious consequences of a first-time DUI charge in Florida is to let a Miami DUI attorney come out fighting on your behalf. When I represent my clients, I know that I am fighting for their freedom, their finances, and their reputation. With so much on the line, you can bet that I don't take things lightly; instead, I take them personally.

Call 305.707.0036 to get in touch with me and schedule your free case review today.

Categories: First DUI

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.

Internet Marketing Experts
Jonathan Blecher, P.A. - Miami DUI Attorney
Located at 9150 S Dadeland Blvd, Dadeland Centre II, Suite 1010 Miami, FL 33156. View Map
Phone: (305) 677-0563
© 2013 All Rights Reserved.
LinkedIn Twitter Facebook Google Plus Avvo